I want to be “that” mom!

I just finished reading a blog about a mother of 7 children who has no interest in being “that” mom.  You know, the one that volunteers in the classroom and joins the PTO.  The one that attends every one of her child’s sporting/dance events and has all the badges sewn on in the proper position on the scouting vests.  The one that scrapbooks and makes crafts and bakes treats for all occassions.  (http://alphamom.com/parenting/not-that-mom/)

I’ve lived the first part of my adult life with a similar attitude… that I will never be “that” mom.  I am a hard working professional, that spends far more time at work than taking care of my home.  I eat out way more often than I actually cook for myself.  (In fact, I can probably count on one hand the number of times I have cooked in the last 2 months.)  I make comments about “those” mothers to my friends.

But the truth is… I REALLY want to be one of “those” moms.  I could totally be into scrapbooking if I had someone to scrap about other than the cat!  I could really enjoy making a homemade dinner every night if I was cooking for someone other than myself!  I think I could even really enjoy playdates and dance practice and football games if I didn’t have to work such long hours all the time.

I can see myself driving the mini-van with the corny stick-figure family decal on the back window.  I’m almost tempted to get one now, just because I think they are too stinkin’ cute.  But really?  Is this the message I want to send out??

~ by angi716 on August 14, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

