What happened to the art of selling?

I have been in the market for a new camera.  I had a pretty good idea about a few features that were a must… compact size and at least 7x optical zoom.  Other than that however, I am completely lost.  So I visited several electronics stores, trying to get someone to SELL me on a particular model.  Remember the day when someone would actually do that?  You know, teach you about their product and explain the pros and cons of one model over another.  Well no more… at least not where I was shopping.

I went specifically to a camera/photofinishing store thinking the employees there should have the best handle on what’s out there.  WASTE of time.  The employee I encountered could barely be bothered to unlock the showcase so I could play with the samples and try to figure out how to turn them on all on my own.  Do these people not work for commission anymore??  I did find one model that met my needs and was on sale, but how can you just buy something without being able to compare it to anything?

Next I went to a big box electronics store, not really expecting to get much better service, but hoping they might have a different selection.  Wow, what a difference!  I was greeted, asked what I was looking for, he inquired on why I wanted certain features, etc, etc.  The sad thing, they didn’t really carry what I was looking for.  I would have spent MORE to buy the same camera from this guy because he made such an effort.

So of course I had to turn to the internet, to educate myself.  I read some reviews and decided that the sale model at the first store was probably a good fit.  I stopped back another day, when there were different employees working.  Hmmm, let’s see if these guys will try to sell me something.  SAME thing!  I must have been taking away from their time spent prying on people’s one hour photos as they zoom by.  I bought the camera anyway… where’s MY commission?!  Hmm, need a camera case, maybe a memory card??  Obvious questions, right?  Nothing!  Guess I’ll be going back to the big box store.

~ by angi716 on August 17, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
